MODUL 5
Konfliktlösung in einem interkulturellen Garten

Übersicht:

Dieses Modul befasst sich mit alltäglichen Konfliktsituationen, wie sie jeder Person begegnen können, die mit Menschen in einem interkulturellen Garten arbeitet. Das Modul zeigt Konfliktlösungsstrategien auf.

Die Schwerpunkte dieses Moduls sind:

  • Konflikttypen in interkulturellen Gärten
  • Dynamiken und Einstellungen
  • Konfliktlösung
  • Gute Beziehungen aufrecht erhalten

Wissen

  • Konflikte erkennen und identifizieren 
  • Techniken zur Bewältigung von Konfliktsituationen
  • Wie man schlichtet 

Fähigkeiten

  • Verbesserung der offenen und zweiseitigen Kommunikation
  • Aktives Zuhören lernen
  • Wertschätzung multikultureller Ansichten
  • Förderung der zwischenmenschlichen Zusammenarbeit.

Verhaltensweisen

  • Aufgeschlossen sein 
  • Gegenseitiger Respekt 
  • Umgang mit Vorurteilen
  • Geduld und Ruhe bewahren in Stresssituationen
  • Konflikte sind ein unvermeidliches Element sozialer Beziehungen. Der Schlüssel zum Problem liegt darin, dass jeder Konflikt einen destruktiven oder konstruktiven Verlauf nehmen kann. Es geht also nicht darum, Konflikte zu beseitigen oder zu verhindern, sondern darum zu wissen, wie man Situationen vermeidet in denen Konflikte entstehen können. Im Falle eines Konfliktes kann man diesen dann so lösen, dass beide Konfliktparteien davon profitieren können.
  • Ein interkultureller Garten ist Teil der Gesellschaft und weder von konfliktträchtigen noch heiklen Situationen ausgenommen, zu deren Klärung professionelle Hilfe nötig sein kann.
  • In interkulturellen Gemeinschaftsgärten kommen Menschen zusammen, die sehr verschieden sind und oft in schwierigen Situationen leben. Aus den Fallbeispielen wissen wir, dass es bewährte Praktiken braucht um Konflikten zu begegnen und nach Lösungen zu suchen, die für alle befriedigend sind. So kann der Garten ein integrativer und einladender Ort werden.

Konflikt ist Licht und Schatten, Gefahr und Chance, Stabilität und Veränderung, Stärke und Schwäche, der Impuls zum Vorankommen und das Hindernis, dem er entgegenwirkt. Alle Konflikte enthalten den Samen der Schöpfung und Zerstörung. (Sun Tzu, 480-211 BC).

Laut der Königlichen Akademie der Spanischen Sprache gibt es viele Definitionen des Wortes Konflikt, darunter " Gefecht oder Kampf ", " bewaffnete Konfrontation ", " Ärger, unglückliche Situation " und schließlich " Problem, Thema, Angelegenheit der Diskussion. "

Bis vor kurzem galten Konflikte als etwas Negatives, das man vermeiden sollte, etwas, das mit psychischen Problemen, sozialen Störungen und Krieg zu tun hatte.

Konflikte können viele positive Effekte und Funktionen haben, wie z.B.:

  • Vermeidung von Stillstand
  • Interesse und Neugier wecken
  • Anstoß für sozialen Austausch
  • Bildung einer Gruppenidentität und Selbsterfahrung 
  • Erlernen neuer Wege der Problemlösung
  • Aufbau erfolgreicher und dauerhafter Beziehungen

Konfliktmanagement beginnt mit dem Wissen über die Ursache des Konflikts. Die Basis für Meinungsverschiedenheiten oder Missverständnisse sind normalerweise:

  • Mangelhafte Kommunikation: Unterschiedliche Kommunikationsstile können zu Missverständnissen führen.
  • Unterschiedliche Werte: Mangelndes Verständnis und Akzeptanz und unterschiedliche Standpunkte bzw. Wahrnehmungen der Realität können in Konflikte resultieren.
  • Unterschiedliche Interessen: Konflikte entstehen, wenn sich Menschen ausschließlich auf ihre persönlichen Ziele konzentrieren und dabei gemeinsame Ziele und das Wohl der Gruppe ignorieren.
  • Konflikte zwischen Persönlichkeiten: Alle sozialen Gefüge bestehen aus Individuen mit unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten. Solange nicht alle Parteien einen gemeinsamen Ansatz erkennen und akzeptieren, werden Konflikte auftreten.
  • Schlechte Leistung: Wenn eine Person oder mehrere Personen in einer Gruppe geringeres Engagement oder mangelndes Verständnis für gemeinsame Werte zeigen, sind Konflikte unvermeidbar.
  • Mangelnde Ressourcen: Oftmals haben Menschen das Gefühl, dass sie um Ressourcen konkurrieren müssen, um ihre Pläne umsetzen zu  können. Eine Umgebung mit begrenzten Ressourcen kann Konflikte auslösen.

Nutzen Individuen gemeinsam einen interkulturellen Garten, findet man oft folgende Konflikte:

  • Persönlichkeitskonflikte. Ein Konflikt, den eine Person mit sich selbst austrägt, wenn zum Beispiel die eigenen Handlungen nicht mit den eigenen Wertvorstellungen übereinstimmen. Dies kann der Fall sein, wenn Menschen durch Umstände, die nicht unter ihrer Kontrolle stehen (Krieg, Diskriminierung, Armut, Gewalt) gezwungen werden, ihr Zuhause und ihre Familie zu verlassen.
  • Zwischenmenschliche Konflikte. Konflikte, die wir mit anderen Menschen haben. Es ist notwendig, sie in einen Kontext zu setzen, damit die Konfliktparteien ihre Ziele erreichen können. Diese Konflikte können auf einem Mangel an sozialen Fähigkeiten, Vorurteilen oder anderen Ideen und Wahrnehmungen basieren.
  • Gruppeninterne Konflikte. Diese treten innerhalb einer Gruppe auf. Für die Lösung solcher Konflikte ist es notwendig, bestimmte Elemente wie Vertrauen, Engagement, Empathie, Kommunikation zwischen den Mitgliedern, gegenseitiges Verständnis zu analysieren. Die Menschen in einem Garten haben möglicherweise unterschiedliche Hintergründe, Kulturen oder Erfahrungen.
  • Konflikte zwischen Gruppen. Diese sind am kompliziertesten zu bewältigen und treten zwischen verschiedenen Gruppen auf. Es ist notwendig, das gegenseitige Verständnis und den Austausch zu fördern, um einen Rahmen zu schaffen, der den verschiedenen Gruppen zugute kommt. Wenn im Garten unterschiedliche Gruppen aufeinandertreffen kann es zu Missverständnissen oder sogar körperlichen Konflikten oder Gewalt kommen. (→Concepcion Arenal Gemeinschaftsgarten)

Interkulturelle Gärten werden gemeinschaftlich genutzt und sollten Orte der Integration, Harmonie und bereichernder Erfahrungen sein. Sie sind jedoch nicht immer frei von Konflikten. Die jüngsten Erfahrungen in den Gärten zeigen auf, welche Konfliktbereiche sich ergeben können:

  • Sprach- und Kommunikationsprobleme. In einer multikulturellen und mehrsprachigen Umgebung ist es manchmal schwierig, die eigenen Vorstellungen so zu kommunizieren, dass alle sie verstehen. Dies, in Kombination mit einem mangelnden Verständnis der lokalen Kultur, kann die Kommunikation erschweren, insbesondere wenn neue Gärtner*innen dazu kommen. (→Für mehr Informationen siehe auch Modul 3.)
  • Mangelndes konstantes Engagement. Aufgrund unterschiedlicher Lebenssituationen der Teilnehmer*innen eines interkulturellen Gartens, ist es manchmal schwierig, sich beständig zu engagieren und die für den Garten notwendigen Tätigkeiten verlässlich zu übernehmen.
  • Rassismus. Rassismus von Seiten der lokalen Bevölkerung und zwischen den Teilnehmer*innen selbst kann zu Konflikten führen.
  • Mangelnde Teilnahme an den angebotenen und organisierten Aktivitäten. Anfänglich können kulturelle Unterschiede ein Hindernis für die Durchführung regelmäßiger Aktivitäten in einem interkulturellen Garten sein.
  • Diebstahl: Leider kann Diebstahl auch in einem Umfeld vorkommen das geschaffen wurde, um Integration und multikulturelles Zusammenleben zu fördern.
  • Unangemessenes Verhalten. Wegen der persönlichen Situation einiger Gartennutzer*innen (Suchtprobleme, Stress, psychische Probleme) kann es zu Problemen bei der erfolgreichen Integration kommen. Die persönliche Situation der Betroffenen verschlechtert sich dadurch und es kann zu Konflikten zwischen den Gärtner*innen und den Verantwortlichen kommen.
  • Konflikte mit Autoritäten. Obwohl eine offene Kommunikation in einem multikulturellen und integrativen Umfeld gefördert wird, ist die Anwesenheit von Koordinator*innen wichtig, um die Funktionalität des Gartens zu gewährleisten.
  • Egoismus und persönlicher Vorteil. Manchmal verstehen Gärtner*innen nicht, welchen Nutzen ein interkultureller Garten für die Gruppe bringen kann und verfolgen nur ihre eigenen Interessen, ohne sich mit den Bedürfnissen der anderen auseinander zu setzen.
  • Mangelnde Mittel. Ein Mangel an Finanzmitteln, Materialien und Mitarbeiter*innen kann für den Erfolg oder Misserfolg eines interkulturellen Gartens von entscheidender Bedeutung sein .

In der Literatur werden unzählige Einstellungen beschrieben, die Menschen bei einem Konflikt haben, aber die häufigsten sind:

  • Konkurrenzdenken - Die Idee des Gewinnens oder Verlierens setzt sich durch, bei der die Person zunächst um jeden Preis gewinnen will. Das ist gefährlich, da es zu einer Haltung der ständigen Konkurrenz, Rache und Feindseligkeit kommen kann.
  • Kompromissansatz - Dieser besteht darin, nachzugeben und den Konflikt sogar zu leugnen, damit sich dieser nicht weiter entwickelt. Es ergibt sich keine Gelegenheit den Konflikt zu lösen. Manchmal kann dies die beste Option sein, um die Situation zu beruhigen. Es ist jedoch wichtig den Parteien bei der Konfliktlösung zu helfen, um die Interessen der beteiligten Parteien zu wahren.
  • Kollaborativer Ansatz - Er ist zweifellos der gewinnbringendste Ansatz, da er beide Konfliktparteien berücksichtigt und ein Win-Win-Ergebnis erzielt. Die Konfliktparteien erarbeiten gute Alternativen und Versöhnung steht im Vordergrund.

Aus den Werken von Blake und Mouton (1964) entwickelten Autor*innen wie Rahim (1997) und Thomas (1992) die bekannteste Klassifizierung des Konfliktmanagements.

  • Wettbewerb: Gekennzeichnet durch die Verfolgung der eigenen Ziele ohne Rücksicht auf die der Gegenpartei.
  • Vermeidung: Gekennzeichnet dadurch, dass man sich den Problemen nicht stellt. Konflikte werden aufgeschoben, ohne über die anstehenden Probleme nachzudenken, so dass weder die eigenen noch die Interessen der anderen gewürdigt werden.
  • Engagement: Basiert auf Verhandlungen und der Suche nach Lösungen durch eine Einigung seitens der Konfliktparteien. Durch diese Art des Konfliktmanagements verzichten die Parteien auf eine Reihe von persönlichen Zielen, um eine Lösung zu finden, die beide Seiten begünstigt. Die Lösung befriedigt die Konfliktparteien deshalb nur teilweise.
  • Nachgeben: Eine der Konfliktparteien gibt den eigenen Standpunkt auf um ein Problem zu lösen.
  • Zusammenarbeit: Bedeutet die Einbeziehung des anderen bei der Suche nach einer gemeinsamen Lösung. Es geht darum, die Meinungsverschiedenheiten zu analysieren und Alternativen zu entwickeln, die beide Parteien zufriedenstellen.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, wie Konflikte gelöst werden können. Im Bereich der interkulturellen Gärten können wir die folgenden allgemein anerkannten Techniken anwenden:

  • Verhandlung: Die Teilnahme an den Verhandlungen ist freiwillig und es gibt keine Intervention von Dritten. Es ist eine der am häufigsten verwendeten Methoden der Konfliktlösung. Beide am Konflikt beteiligte Parteien müssen Zugeständnisse machen.
  • Win-Win-Techniken: Bei dieser Technik gewinnen alle Parteien, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Suche nach einem alternativen Weg zur Konsensfindung liegt. Der Fokus liegt auf gemeinsamen Interessen und nicht auf dem Problem selbst. Diese Methode basiert auf Solidarität, Empathie, Dialog und der Suche nach einem gemeinsamen Standpunkt. (Fisher and Ury, 2011)
  • Mediation: Eine neutrale dritte Person begleitet die Kommunikation und hilft beiden Parteien während der Verhandlungen, um eine einvernehmliche Vereinbarung zu erzielen.

Zusätzlich zu den oben beschriebenen Techniken gibt es weitere, die uns bei der Analyse und Lösung von Konflikten helfen können. Merkmale dieser Techniken sind:

  1. Schnell in der Anwendung
  2. Flexibel
  3. Universell anwendbar
  4. Einfach in der Ausführung
  • CAT (Conflict Analysis Tipology): Dieses Methode ist zwar einfach, aber von großer Bedeutung. Sie dient der Analyse, was passiert ist, woher der Konflikt kommt und was die Bedürfnisse der Gärtner*innen sind. Es wird ein Fragebogen verwendet, in dem die Anwender*innen das Ausmaß und die Schwere des Konflikts bewerten. (Redorta. 2006)

Zehn Tipps zur Konfliktvermeidung

  • Tipp 1. Präventionsarbeit. Ein gutes Umfeld kann helfen, das Auftreten von Konflikten zu verhindern. Das Festlegen von Grundregeln für das Zusammenleben und die Entwicklung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung des Dialogs und des Zusammenlebens im Garten sind grundlegend.
  • Tipp 2. Förderung und Sicherstellung der Kommunikation. In interkulturellen Gärten sind verbale und nonverbale Kommunikation sehr wichtig. Die Kommunikationsfähigkeiten der Gärtner*innen müssen verbessert werden. Wir müssen aber auch unsere eigene Kommunikation beachten, indem wir den produktiven Dialog und das aktive Zuhören fördern. (→Für mehr Informationen siehe auch Modul 3)
  • Tipp 3. Analyse der Problematik. Wir wissen, dass nicht alle Probleme die gleiche Intensität oder Wichtigkeit haben, weshalb es ratsam ist, den Ursprung und Gründe für das Problems im Detail zu analysieren und ihnen die nötige Aufmerksamkeit zu widmen.
  • Tipp 4. Bieten Sie alternative Lösungen an. Wenn wir unseren Gärtner*innen verschieden Möglichkeiten aufzeige, wie ein Problem gelöst werden kann, haben wir die Möglichkeit, die Konfliktparteien an der Entscheidungsfindung zu beteiligen und zu reflektierten Ergebnissen zu kommen.
  • Tipp 5. Ruhig bleiben. Eine entspannte Haltung kann helfen, den Konflikt zufriedenstellend zu lösen. Sie sollten jedoch klar und unmissverständlich agieren.
  • Tipp 6. Anwendung von Konfliktlösungstechniken. Es gibt unzählige Techniken, die je nach Schwere des Konflikts Anwendung finden.
    → (Für mehr Informationen siehe Kapitel 4u).
  • Tipp 7. Schulungen für Gärtner*innen zur Konfliktlösung. Training in den Bereichen Prävention und Konfliktlösung verhindert, dass Konflikte eskalieren.
  • Tipp 8. Teamarbeit. Förderung freundlicher und verständnisvoller zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen im gesamten Netzwerk des Gartens.
  • Tipp 9. Zukunftsperspektive. Das ultimative Ziel ist es, die zwischen den Parteien getroffenen Vereinbarungen im Laufe der Zeit so zu gestalten, dass sie dauerhaft sind.
  • Tipp 10. Nachbereitung. Die Entwicklung der Vereinbarung und das Auftreten neuer Konflikte muss evaluiert werden, um ein harmonisches Zusammenleben innerhalb des interkulturellen Gartens zu gewährleisten.

Es gibt gute Praxisbeispiele, die in anderen interkulturellen Gärten erfolgreich angewandt werden. Diese können helfen, das Auftreten von Konflikten zu vermeiden.

  • Regelmäßige offene Treffen
    Dies ist wahrscheinlich das am häufigsten verwendete Verfahren in interkulturellen Gärten, da es die gemeinsame Entscheidungsfindung unterstützt.
  • Runder Tisch
    Wird in kleineren Gruppen durchgeführt, um Probleme und mögliche Lösungen zu besprechen. Oft in Kombination mit z.B. einem gemeinsamen Essen oder Kaffee und Kuchen, um für eine entspannte Atmosphäre zu sorgen.
  • Unterstützungsgruppen
    Werden von den Gartennutzer*innen selbst gebildet, um den Gärtner*innen, die sich in einer schwierigen Lebenssituation befinden, emotionale Unterstützung zu bieten. Es gibt immer eine*n Mentor*in, der/die konfliktbehaftete Personen begleitet.
  • Verfügbarkeit der Initiator*innen
    Es ist ratsam, dass der/die Iniatiator*in oder andere verantwortliche Personen sich wöchentlich Zeit nehmen, damit sie im Garten präsent sein können und um als Ansprechpartner*in bei möglichen Problemen verfügbar zu sein. Ziel ist es, das Auftreten möglicher Konflikte vorwegzunehmen und zu verhindern.
  • Hinweise auf andere Hilfsangebote
    Es ist wichtig über Netzwerke oder Vermittlungsmöglichkeiten zu verfügen, um eventuell den Gärtner*innen weitere Hilfe wie z. B. die der staatlichen Sozialdienste anbieten zu können. → (Situationsbericht).
  • Aktivitäten und Seminare
    Wir verweisen auf die Fallstudien, die wir im UGAIN-Projekt durchgeführt haben, bei denen ungezwungene Aktivitäten sehr wichtig sind, um ein konfliktfreies Klima und eine angenehme und entspannte Atmosphäre zu schaffen.
    Z.B.: Chor, Malerei, Kunsthandwerk, Kochunterricht, Sprache, etc. → (Concepcion Arenal Gemeinschaftsgarten)→ (Spanischunterricht für Migrant*innen)→ (Kochworkshop)→ (Samenprojekt)→ (Ateljéns Trädgård – Ateliergarten an der Folkuniversitetet in Växjö, Schweden)→ (Internationale Gärten e. V. Göttingen)→ (The Grange (der Hof/ die Farm).
  • Andere Kommunikationswege finden
    Alternative Kommunikationswege sind unerlässlich, um die mündliche und schriftliche Kommunikation zu erleichtern, die manchmal durch Sprachprobleme, Scham, etc. behindert wird. Die Einrichtung von Foren, sozialen Netzwerken, einer Kummerbox usw. kann dazu beitragen, eine flüssige und kontinuierliche Kommunikation zwischen den Gärtnern*innen aufrechtzuerhalten. → (Garten der Begegnung); → (Growing Together Levenshulme)→ (Spanischunterricht für Migrant*innen).

Reflexionsfragen

  • Welche Arten von Konflikten, die in sozialen Beziehungen auftreten können, wurden in diesem Modul erläutert?
  • Welche Konflikte erwarten Sie bei ihrem eigenen Projekt?
  • Beschreiben Sie mindestens einen Ansatz, den eine Person im Falle eines Konflikts verfolgen könnte.
  • Nennen Sie einige der Möglichkeiten des Konfliktmanagements, welche in diesem Modul genannt wurden.
  • Denken Sie über die best practice – Beispiele nach. Könnten einige davon in Ihrem Projekt Anwendung finden?

Selbstkontrolle für Gartenleiter*innen. Haben Sie das Trainingsmodul verstanden?

Weitere Literatur zur Konfliktlösung:

  • Deutsch, M y P.T. Coleman (“eds.”). (2000) The handbook of conflict resolution: theory and practice. Jossey-Bass Publishers
  • Fisher, R., Ury, W. and Patton, B. (1991), Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement without Giving In, 2nd ed., Houghton Mifflin
  • Sun Tzu, The Art of War. (The work has been dated from between the 6th to the 3rd century BC)
  • Eduard Vinyamata. (2001) Conflictologia. Teoria y practica en Resolucion de Conflictos. Ariel Practicum
  • Josep Redorta. (2004) Como analizar los conflictos. La tipologia de conflictos como herramienta de mediacion. Paidos Contextos
  • Ortego Maté, López Gonzaáez, Álvarez Trigueros (2011). Ciencias Psicosociales I. tema 9, Los confictos. From https://ocw.unican.es/pluginfile.php/1420/course/section/1836/tema_09.pdf
  • Helena Cornelius, Shoshana Faire (2017). Tu ganas yo gano. Como resover conflictos creativamente y disfrutar de las soluciones. Gaia
OBEN

MODULE 5
Conflict resolution in an intercultural garden.

Overview:

This module describes conflicting circumstances that may happen in the daily life of any person working in an urban garden. The module demonstrates how to intervene to find solutions.

This module puts a special focus on the following:

  • The type of conflicts which occur within the urban garden
  • Dynamics and attitudes
  • Conflict resolution
  • Maintaining good relations

Knowledge

  • How to recognise and identify a conflict
  • Techniques to handle conflict situations
  • How to mediate

Skills

  • How to increase open and bilateral communication
  • Learning to listen actively
  • Valuing multicultural perspectives
  • Promotion of interpersonal cooperation.

Attitudes

  • Being open minded
  • Mutual respect
  • Dealing with prejudices
  • Patience and calm in stressful situations.
  • Conflict is an inevitable feature of social relations. The key to the problem is that any conflict can take a destructive or constructive course. Therefore, the issue is not to eliminate or prevent conflict but to know how to avoid situations where conflict arises and deal with conflict using sufficient resources so that those involved can be enriched.
  • The urban garden, is part of the community and is not exempt from conflictive and delicate situations, which require certain professional skills.
  • Urban gardens often have a broad cultural diversity of people. This can sometimes lead to stressful situations experienced by people using or working in the garden. In addition, our case studies highlight the importance of implementing certain policies and good practices in urban gardens that help to reduce the intensity of the conflicts and the search for possible solutions that satisfy all parties, turning the garden into a place which is inclusive and welcoming.

Conflict is light and shadow, danger and opportunity, stability and change, strength and weakness, the impulse to move forward and the obstacle it opposes. All conflicts contain the seed of creation and destruction (Sun Tzu, 480-211 BC).

According to the Royal Academy of the Spanish Language there are many definition of conflict including "combat or fight"; "armed confrontation" ,"trouble, unfortunate situation " and finally " problem, issue, matter of discussion. "

Until recently, conflict was considered something negative to avoid, something related to mental issues, social disorders and war.

Conflict can have many positive functions and values such as:

  • Avoiding lack of progress
  • Stimulate interest and curiosity
  • Become the origin of personal and social exchange
  • Help establish individual and group identities and get to know each other better
  • Help learn new ways to respond to problems
  • Help build fruitful and lasting relationships

Origin

Conflict management starts from the knowledge of the cause that triggers this conflict. In general, disagreements or misunderstandings usually come from:

  • Bad communication: different communication styles can lead to misunderstandings between people.
  • Different values: the lack of acceptance and understanding and different perceptions of reality or points of view are a source of conflict.
  • Different interests: conflict occurs when people focus exclusively on their personal goals, ignoring common goals and the good of the group.
  • Personality clashes: all social environments are composed of individuals with different personalities and, unless all parties understand and accept a common approach, conflicts will occur.
  • Poor performance: when one or more people within a group are not at the same level of commitment and common values, conflict is inevitable.
  • Poor resources: Too often, people feel they must compete for resources available to perform various activities. An environment characterised by few resources is a place where conflict can be triggered.

When people share a common space such as an intercultural garden, we often find the following types of conflicts:

  • Intrapersonal. This is a personal conflict and is usually a clash between the acts and the qualities, characteristics and a nature of a human being, violating it. There can be a situation where people who are forced to leave their home and their family because of circumstances not under their control (war, discrimination, poverty, violence).
  • Interpersonal. These are the conflicts we have with other people. It is necessary to put them into context so that the people involved with the conflict can achieve their objectives. This type of conflict could be generated by a lack of social skills, prejudice or different ideas and perceptions.
  • Inner group. They occur within the group, among its members. For the resolution of these types of conflicts, it is necessary to examine certain elements such as trust, the degree of commitment, empathy, communication between members, mutual knowledge, etc. For example, there may be people from different backgrounds, cultures or experiences in the same garden.
  • Amongst groups. They are the most complicated to address and occur between different groups. It is necessary to develop mutual knowledge and exchange, creating a collaborative situation that benefits the different groups. For example when the garden is open to different groups that encounter each other, misunderstanding or even physical conflict or violence can occur. (Concepcion Arenal urban garden)

Intercultural gardens are naturally common spaces, and should be a place of integration, harmony and enriching experiences. However, they are not always free from conflict. Recent experiences in these gardens shows a number of conflict areas which are:

  • Language and communication problems. In a multicultural and multilingual environment it is sometimes difficult to instill certain ideas using another language. This, together with a lack of understanding of the local culture can make communications difficult, especially when there are new gardeners. → (See training module 3 to find out more information)
  • Lack of constant commitment. Due to different personal situations that we can find among the gardeners of an intercultural garden, it is sometimes difficult to ensure commitment from migrants to make sure schedules are adhered to that are required to carry out the activities of the garden.
  • Racism. Sometimes racist behaviors are endorsed by the local population and the users themselves, who interact with the rest of the gardeners in the community gardens.
  • Lack of participation in the activities organized by those responsible for the garden. Initially, cultural differences can be an obstacle to developing daily activities within an urban garden.
  • Theft. Unfortunately theft can also take place in an environment that has been created to promote integration and multicultural co-existence.
  • Behavior regression. Due to the personal situations of some users of the garden (addiction issues, stress, mental health problems) sometimes there is a setback in their ability to successfully integrate that can lead to a worsening of their situation. This can lead to conflicts between the gardeners and those responsible.
  • Clashes with authority. Although open communication is encouraged in a multicultural and integration environment, the presence of managers or coordinators is important to perform the tasks of a garden
  • Egotism and personal benefit. Sometimes gardeners do not understand the benefits that an intercultural garden can bring to the group and only pursue their own benefit without getting involved with others.
  • Poor resources. The shortage of funding, materials and human resources can be of crucial importance in the development of the activities of an intercultural space.

In literature there are countless classifications about the approach people take in the presence of a conflict, but the most common are:

  • Competitive approach. The idea of ​​winning or losing prevails, in which the person initially wants to win at all costs. This is dangerous since it can create an attitude of continuous competitiveness, revenge and resentment.
  • Compromising approach. This consists of yielding and even denying the conflict so that it does not move on and does not create an opportunity to resolve anything. Sometimes it may be the best option to calm down the situation and it is important to help the other party to settle in the conflict to achieve their interests.
  • Collaborative approach. It is, without any doubt, the most enriching as it takes into consideration the parties in conflict, generating a win-win outcome. It will generate another course of action and the possibility of reconciliation.

From the works of Balke and Mouton (1964), authors such as Rahim (1997) and Thomas (1992) developed the best-known classification of conflict management behavior.

  • Competition: characterised by pursuing one's own objectives without considering those of the opposing party with which we are in conflict.
  • Avoid: characterised by not facing the problems. Conflicts are postponed, without thinking about the needs at stake, so that neither their own interests nor those of others are valued.
  • Commitment: it is based on negotiation, and the search for solutions through an agreement on the part of the confronted. Through this way of dealing with the conflict, the parties renounce a series of personal objectives to reach a solution that favors both. The solution therefore only partially satisfies the confronted.
  • Accommodation: it means giving up, by the will of one of the parties, to the views of the other, thus renouncing their own, in order to solve a problem.
  • Collaboration: it means the incorporation of each other in the search for a common objective. It involves exploring the disagreement, generating alternatives that satisfy both parties.

There is a large amount of information available on how to tackle conflict from its origin. Regarding urban gardens, we can apply the following widely recognised techniques:

  • Negotiation: in which the two parties involved in the conflict win by making certain concessions. Participation is voluntary and there is no intervention from third parties. It is one of the most used techniques for its informality and usefulness.
  • Win-win techniques: in this technique all parties win, focusing on finding an alternative way to reach consensus, focusing on common affinities and interests rather than the problem itself. It facilitates solidarity, empathy, dialogue and the search for an intermediate point between the parties. (Fisher and Ury, 2011)
  • Mediation: in which a neutral third party facilitates communication and helps both parties to negotiate to reach a mutual agreement in which confidentiality, cooperation and projection prevail.

In addition to the techniques outlined above, there are other tools that can help us in analysing and resolving conflicts. A feature of these tools is that they must be:

  1. Quick in their application.
  2. Flexible
  3. General
  4. Simple in their execution.
  • CAT (Conflict Analysis Tipology): this tool, although simple, is of great importance to analyse what has happened where the conflict originates from and what are the needs of the gardener. A questionnaire is used, in which users evaluate the extent and severity of the conflict. (Redorta. 2006)

Here are ten tips to prevent conflicts in the future:

  • Tip 1. Work on prevention. A good environment can help prevent the onset of conflicts. Establish basic rules of coexistence and develop activities to improve dialogue and coexistence within the garden.
  • Tip 2. Promote and take care of communication. Within multicultural urban gardens, verbal and nonverbal communication are very important. The communication skills of our gardeners must be worked on, but we must also take care of our own communication by encouraging productive dialogue and active listening. → (See training module 3 to find out more information)
  • Tip 3. Analysis of the reality of the problem. We know that not all problems have the same intensity or severity, so it is advisable to analyse in detail the origin and causes of the problem and give it the importance it deserves.
  • Tip 4. Offer alternative solutions. Showing our gardeners the possibility of looking for different, alternative ways to a problem gives us the opportunity to reach more reflective agreements, making the parties to the conflict participate in the agreement.
  • Tip 5. Keep calm. Maintaining a relaxed attitude can help resolve the conflict satisfactorily but without forgetting to stand firm and unambiguous.
  • Tip 6. Implement conflict resolution techniques. There are countless techniques to be able to implement them depending on the severity of the conflict.

    → (To find out more information come back to chapter 4 to see most common techniques).

  • Tip 7. Train gardeners in resolving conflicts. Prevention and conflict resolution training will prevent problems from going further and will be an excellent preventive measure.
  • Tip 8. Teamwork. To foster interpersonal relationships in a healthy and consensual way within the entire network of gardeners.
  • Tip 9. Future projection. The ultimate goal is to be able to maintain the agreements reached between the parties over time, so that it is durable.
  • Tip 10. Follow up. Evaluate the evolution of the agreement and the emergence of new conflicts is important to maintain harmonious coexistence within the multicultural garden.

Finally, there are good practices used successfully in other intercultural gardens. That can help prevent recently occurring conflict.

  • Setting up regular, open meetings
    It is possibly the most used procedure in intercultural gardens, being a participatory body that helps collective decision making. It guarantees open discussions and open governance.
  • Round tables
    Used in smaller groups to share problems and possible solutions. They are often accompanied by activities such as eating together ,sharing coffee time, etc., to achieve a relaxed and trustworthy environment.
  • Support groups
    Formed by the garden users themselves, with these groups it is intended to give emotional coverage to the gardeners who are going through a difficult or delicate situation. There is always a mentor who can guide people who are living with conflict.
  • Availability of the managers
    It is advisable that managers or other responsible people, devote weekly time to walk around the garden and listen to the possible problems that gardeners may have. The purpose is to be able to anticipate and prevent the occurrence of possible conflicts.
  • Referral to other social resources
    It is of great importance to implement networks or referrals to teams with public services such as social services available in the area. → (Please see Summary Report to find out about these practices).
  • Activities and workshops
    We refer to the case studies that we have observed in the UGAIN project, in which informal activities are very important to create a conflict-free climate and a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere such as: choir, painting, crafts, cooking classes, cooking classes language, etc. To find out more visit the case studies: → (Concepcion Arenal urban garden); (Spanish classes for migrant people); (Cook workshop); (Samenprojekt – seed project); (Studio Garden at the Folkuniversitetet in Växjö, Sweden); (Internationale Gärten e. V. Göttingen); (The Grange).
  • Find other ways to communicate
    The implementation of alternative communication channels is essential, facilitating verbal and written communication that can sometimes be hindered by language problems, embarrassment, etc. In this way, creating forums, social networks, a suggestion box, etc., will help to maintain a fluid and constant communication between the gardeners. To find out more visit the case studies: → (Garten der Begegnung);(Growing Together Levenshulme); Spanish classes for migrant people

Questions for self-reflection

  • What kinds of general conflicts can happen in social relationships we've seen in this module?
  • What types of conflict do you anticipate in running your own garden project?
  • Describe at least one approach that a person may have when they are part of a conflict.
  • Name some of the conflict resolution techniques we've seen in this module?
  • Reflect on the good practices you have seen in this module. Could you apply some of these in your garden initiative?

Short knowledge test for garden managers ​Did you understand the training module?

To learn more about conflicts:

  • Deutsch, M y P.T. Coleman (“eds.”). (2000) The handbook of conflict resolution: theory and practice. Jossey-Bass Publishers
  • Fisher, R., Ury, W. and Patton, B. (1991), Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement without Giving In, 2nd ed., Houghton Mifflin
  • Sun Tzu, The Art of War. (The work has been dated from between the 6th to the 3rd century BC)
  • Eduard Vinyamata. (2001) Conflictologia. Teoria y practica en Resolucion de Conflictos. Ariel Practicum
  • Josep Redorta. (2004) Como analizar los conflictos. La tipologia de conflictos como herramienta de mediacion. Paidos Contextos
  • Ortego Maté, López Gonzaáez, Álvarez Trigueros (2011). Ciencias Psicosociales I. tema 9, Los confictos. From https://ocw.unican.es/pluginfile.php/1420/course/section/1836/tema_09.pdf
  • Helena Cornelius, Shoshana Faire (2017). Tu ganas yo gano. Como resover conflictos creativamente y disfrutar de las soluciones. Gaia
TOP